LET’S MOVE ON
Did Conforto intentionally lean in to the pitch? Did home plate umpire blow the call? According to MLB rules, the play was not reviewable. Should it be reviewable? And what did you make of the reaction by Mets analysts Ron Darling and Keith Hernandez?
In the first inning of Saturday’s Mets-Marlins game at Citi Field, the camera again turned on the Mets broadcast booth to continue the discussion.
Conforto spoke to the media. Kulpa admitted he made an error. The media spoke to each other. Even Marlins manager Don Mattingly agrees, it’s time to “move on.”
“The guy was hit by a pitch in the strike zone. I should have called him out.” – Ron Kulpa
Good for Conforto that he wasn’t proud of the way it ended. But let’s not put him in the Astros-type cheating category. He was fooled by a slider and rather K looking he had a split-second reaction the way a lot of hitters do in that situation. Up to the umpire to call him out.
— John Harper (@NYNJHarper) April 8, 2021