Warren Peper walked Interstate 91 along the Gulf Coast, stepping his way through the rubble: a rain-soaked shoe, a mutilated street sign, a tree ripped from earth, lying across an intersection, a child’s brown-and-white teddy bear, muddy and flattened to the street curb, a washing machine, sucked from a kitchen, lying atop fragments of what was once someone’s home, the residuum of Hurricane Katrina’s deed.

As he weaved in and out of the debris and surveyed the wreckage, memories of Hurricane Hugo came flooding back. The sights and sounds gave way to an emotional ambush.

Read more

Fans watching the 2006 Major League Baseball post-season on FOX are witnessing a network running amuck in the broadcast booth.

Days later Thom Brennaman committed not one – but two – regretful mistakes, FOX has announced they have given color commentator Steve Lyons his pink slip.

This news comes in the middle of post-season play, an indicator of the level of embarrassment the network is dealing with during it’s most-watched time of the baseball season.

Read more

The last time Major League Baseball went a complete season without a 20-game winner was 1995, when Greg Maddux (Atlanta Braves) and Mike Mussina (Baltimore Orioles) both fell one win short.

During one stretch from 1961-1980, major league baseball had a 20-game winner in both leagues every year.

Starting Sunday’s games Minnesota Twins ace Johan Santana is 18-5, Chicago White Sox Jon Garland (17-6), Detroit Tigers’ Kenny Rogers (17-6) and New York Yankees starters Randy Johnson (17-11) and Chien Ming Wang (18-6). The only NL pitchers with 16 or more wins are Los Angeles Dodger Brad Penny (16-9) and Arizona Diamondback Brandon Webb (16-7).

Will we have a 20-game winner in 2006?

Read more